• Current through October 23, 2012

The Council of the District of Columbia is authorized, in connection with the licensing of persons engaged in the home improvement business, whether as principal, agent, salesman, employee, or otherwise, to require the furnishing of bond as a condition to the issuance of such license. For the purposes of this part, the term "home improvement business" means the repair, remodeling, alteration, conversion, or modernization of, or addition to, residential property, all as may be more particularly defined in regulations promulgated by the Council. Such bonding may be required notwithstanding the fact that a person may also be subject to the bonding requirements of any other law.

(Sept. 6, 1960, 74 Stat. 815, Pub. L. 86-715, § 1; Sept. 26, 2012, D.C. Law 19-171, § 302(b), 59 DCR 6190.)


Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 2-501.

1973 Ed., § 2-2301.

Effect of Amendments

D.C. Law 19-171 enacted into law Part A of subchapter IV of Chapter 28 of Title 47.

Legislative History of Laws

Law 19-171, the "Technical Amendments Act of 2012", was introduced in Council and assigned Bill No. 19-397, which was referred to the Committee of the Whole. The Bill was adopted on first and second readings on March 20, 2012, and April 17, 2012, respectively. Signed by the Mayor on May 23, 2012, it was assigned Act No. 19-376 and transmitted to both Houses of Congress for its review. D.C. Law 19-171 became effective on September 26, 2012.

Change in Government

This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 402(78) of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to the District of Columbia Council, subject to the right of the Commissioner as provided in § 406 of the Plan. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 (D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act (D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section.