• Current through October 23, 2012

The enforcement of this chapter shall be intrusted to the Mayor of the District of Columbia, and the Council of the District of Columbia is hereby authorized and empowered to make all rules and regulations necessary in its judgment for the conduct of such business and the enforcement of this chapter in addition hereto and not inconsistent herewith.

(Feb. 4, 1913, 37 Stat. 660, ch. 26, § 11.)


Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 26-711.

1973 Ed., § 26-611.

Change in Government

This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 402(224) of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to the District of Columbia Council, subject to the right of the Commissioner as provided in § 406 of the Plan. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 (D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act (D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section.