• Current through October 23, 2012

(a) As used in this subchapter the term "Mayor" means the Mayor of the District of Columbia or his designated agents.

(b) Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed so as to affect the authority vested in the Commissioners by Reorganization Plan No. 5 of 1952 (66 Stat. 824). The performance of any function vested by this subchapter in the Commissioners or in any office or agency under the jurisdiction and control of said Commissioners may be performed by the Commissioners or may be delegated by said Commissioners in accordance with § 3 of such plan.

(Nov. 10, 1966, 80 Stat. 1520, Pub. L. 89-803, § 10.)


Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 24-469.

1973 Ed., § 24-469.

References in Text

Reorganization Plan No. 5 of 1952, referred to in subsection (b) of this section, is set out in its entirety in Volume 1.

Change in Government

This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 401 of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to a single Commissioner. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 (D.C. Code, § 1-211), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act (D.C. Code, § 1-213(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section.